Testing the SLR Magic 35mm f1.7 lens on my Olympus EP-1


This is a quick comparison series using the SLR Magic 35mm f1.7 lens I bought recently. The first two are shot with the Magic, the first at f1.7, and the second stopped down – unfortunately I can’t quite remember how much, and as the lens is manual there is limited EXIF info. The third was shot on the Olympus 14-42mm F3.5-5.6.
I love the effect of the Magic – although if I were shooting for a client I would definitely cover myself by shooting on a conventional lens in case they didn’t understand that the softness was deliberate!
The lens is small and neat with an excellent lens hood and feels solid and well made – it’s a real bargain for about £60. You can buy it on Ebay.

The beautiful loaf was made by my brother-in-law. He makes these enticing sourdough loaves from a starter yeast that he made about a year ago, and bakes them in a huge wood fired oven he built at Moon’s Green, in Kent

One Comment Add yours

  1. shamtest says:

    I can’t seem to access this post from my smartphone!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

