Buckwheat Flatbread

I had the endoscoy to test for coeliac disease last week and although I am still waiting for the official diagnosis, the weeks of enforced gluten eating before the test has convinced me that it is at the root of my problems and as soon as I got home from hospital I embarked on eating gluten free.

One of the sadnesses of my new diet is having to give up Swedish crispbread/knäckebröd and I have been searching for an alternative. Although there are lots of nice crackers and rusk type things out there to buy they are mostly too light and bland for my rustic tastes and I have been experimenting with different flours and recipes to create something that has a little ‘bite’ to it. My favourite Swedish knäckebröd was from Pyramidbageri, baked in a wood fired open oven using stoneground flours.

My version is made with the equipment I have, using the flours I can eat,  but it is good and has some of the earthy peasant flavours that I love.

Buckwheat Flatbread

● 2 cups buckwheat flour
● 1 cup gluten free plain flour
● 1 tsp salt
● 1-11/2 cups water

Using either a food processor or simply a bowl with a wire whisk, pour sufficient water in a steady stream onto the flours and salt until it forms  a dough – not too sticky.

Turn the dough out onto a floured board and knead a little incorporating a little more flour if is too sticky.  Divide the dough into 18 equal pieces and roll each one out into a circle as thinly as possible (about 8″ in diameter). You will need plenty of flour on your board and on the rolling pin to prevent it sticking. Then prick it all over with a fork or if you have one a Swedish naggare (I think that’s what it’s called –  please tell me if not!)

Carefully lift the circle of dough with a broad spatula into a hot dry frying pan or griddle and cook over moderate heat, turning it over frequently until it is dry and crisp and has started to look slightly scorched in patches!
It’s particularly delicious with this excellent hard goat’s cheese from the Co-op! (Which has the added advantage of being ok for me in my current lactose intolerant state.)


Photographed using a Lensbaby lens

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Signe says:

    yum! looks great, buckwheat’s such a great flour to use…bet this is good with cheese 😉

    Like

  2. lailablogs says:

    Looks absolutely delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com

    Like

  3. MJK06 says:

    i prefer buckwheat flour to any other and i am gonna try and make these…they look yum 🙂 Thx for posting!

    Like

  4. gloria says:

    Oh, Marie-lou, that looks really good. And you’d found a new kitchen implement that I don’t have. I’m now on nagarre alert. Beautiful pics of course.

    Like

  5. Just made a version of this… absolutely delicious! Thanks 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

