Slimming

I watched a fascinating programme on the box (BBC) last night: ’10 Things You Need To Know About Losing Weight’.  A doctor testing the latest scientific theories about weight loss used these techniques to lose about 11 pounds painlessly in 3 months. And he did check the theories rigourously before he started to show that they worked!

As someone who has been battling with weight ever since my thyroid went haywire about 15 years ago this sounded worth studying!

The 10 tips are:

  1. Don’t skip meals – it makes you hungrier later
  2. Protein is more satisfying than the same number of calories in carbohydrates or fats  – you feel less hungry for longer
  3. Blended soup satisfies you for longer than the same ingredients eaten individually.
  4. Calcium from dairy products causes you to excrete more fat – so eat more dairy products – especially low fat.
  5. The effects of exercise include 24 hours of higher rate fat burning.
  6. Small increases in movement throughout your normal day adds significantly to calories used.
  7. Using smaller plates can significantly reduce food consumption
  8. People tend to deceive themselves about how much they eat and 40% of our calorie consumption can be from snacking that we don’t actually acknowledge.

That’s only 8 I know – but I can’t remember the other two just now!

To me the important ones were the first six and I decided to try them for myself. It occurs to me that cottage cheese is an ingredient that fulfils some of the criteria rather well and I remember a diet I used to do years ago that I got from the Swedish magazine Femina (long before the Atkins diet!). It was high protein, low carbohydrate and low fat and included a lot of cottage cheese. I remember feeling really well on it and lost weight painlessly – but lost the copy of the magazine and had forgotten about it until now. One of the meals was cottage cheese blended with water to make a sort of soup which you had for breakfast, with fruit. I tried it this morning and it is very nice – much more protein than yoghurt and following the blended soup principle above sustained me perfectly until lunchtime with no sneaking longing for a snack.

For lunch I have had a soup that is absolutely delicious and fulfils points 2, 3, and 4 above – and it’s glutenfree!

Slimming Cabbage Soup

● 1/2 white cabbage, finely shredded
● 1 leek, finely shredded
● 3 stalks celery, chopped
● 1 handful parsley, chopped
● 1 handful lovage, chopped – if you can find it!
● dash white wine, if available
● 2 lamb stock cubes, or 1 litre home made stock if you have it
● 1 litre water
● 150 gms cottage cheese or quark

Combine the vegetables and herbs in a saucepan, add the wine if using and heat to steam through the vegetables – don’t burn!  Add the water and stock cubes, or homemade stock, bring to the boil and simmer until the vegetables are soft – about 20 minutes.
Blend the soup using a stick or goblet blender,  adding the cottage cheese. Blend until fairly smooth – but leave a little texture!

I wanted to photography my lunch before I ate it but didn’t want to spend too long doing it so grabbed my Panasonic Lumix LX2 which was closest to hand, mounted it on a tripod so I could use it at 100iso, and set it on macro. I then shot it from above so that the background didn’t run out of the frame and so that it had a graphic quality as a shot that didn’t depend on a short depth of field for effect.

And I have drunk my soup while I have been writing this – and feel satisifed and energised!

Now to fulfil point 5 in the list and take Conker for a walk – he gets his dinner after the walk so is pestering me to go NOW!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ilva says:

    I remember that cottage cheese was always included in diet menus a long time ago, now you never see it!

    Like

  2. Caterina B says:

    Hmmm. Cottage cheese is a powerhouse of protein for dieters. It helps keep my blood sugar up and sustained. I am not a diabetic but get weak when I don’t eat enough protein.

    Like

Leave a Reply

