Buckwheat pancake and hidden gluten

Still waiting to have the endoscopy that will confirm (or not?) that I am coeliac but in the meantime I am meant to eat gluten so they don’t get a false negative. This is getting increasingly difficult as I seem to be getting ever more sensitive to it. I find that I can only manage two or three days with a single piece of regular bread or Swedish rye crispbread for breakfast before I feel so awful that I give in and give my gut a rest for a few days. Eating gluten feels like taking poison.  On Saturday I started a few days off gluten and expected to feel a little better by Monday or Tuesday. I was therefore really upset when I went on feeling bad and haven’t started feeling less sore yet, on Wednesday evening.

I’ve just been doing a little sorting out in the kitchen and found I had two packets of baking powder – one clearly marked  gluten free, but when I examined the other pack found it contained wheat. I had never considered baking powder as a source of wheat but realised that I had used half a teaspoon of it on Sunday morning when I made buckwheat pancake as part of my breakfast. Mystery solved, although I am rather shocked to realise that such a tiny bit of gluten should have such an extreme effect. I suppose it is all part of my new education and has the bonus effect of keeping my reaction obvious for the endoscopy!

The pancake tasted good however and I’ll make it again – but with wheatfree baking powder!

P1070826

Buckwheat pancake wrap

  • 1 cup buckwheat flour
  • half tsp glutenfree baking powder
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • half tsp salt

Mix all ingredients together in the order given and stir until batter is smooth. The mixture should be more or less the consistency of single cream.

Heat a non-stick frying pan and add a few drops of olive or sunflower oil, and wope round with a paper kitchen towek.  Ladle enough batter into the hot pan to swirl around covering the surface, and cook over a fairly high heat until the top surface appears dry, and then turn and cook on the other side.

I had some Black Forest ham which I folded in to the pancakes which made a delicious combination!

Leave a Reply

