New gadget for measuring white balance

spydercube_image_1.jpg_300×300_pixels-2

The Spydercube, announced on March 2, sounds like a really useful device for food photographers – especially those often working in daylight or on location as I do. It’s  used to set white balance and for measuring the density of highlights and shadows in a scene.

From their site:

This is not just another gray card! Create your own custom white balance, obtain spectral neutrality data from multiple lightsources, and correct highlight and shadow details with SpyderCube. Establishing an accurate custom white balance ensures an accurate image from the start of each new photo session. Photographers can capture accurate color without a lot of after-the-fact manipulation. SpyderCube is the RAW calibration tool that belongs in every photographer’s bag!

The SpyderCube makes your camera more intelligent! It captures in a single shot a wide range of color and exposure data. You simply use the cube in one of a series of images, adjust accordingly, save as a preset, and apply to an entire series of imag
es to color correct in seconds.”

Sounds very useful and not too expensive at $59.00

3 Comments Add yours

  1. myphotoscout says:

    Sounds intriguing. I have always considered WB as a creative tool, even if my results weren’t 100% neutral.

    Like

  2. ilvaberetta says:

    I am looking for a good monitor colour calibrator, do you know about any good and easy ones? And then I have another question: it seems to me that the coloours I work with and see in my photos Lightroom is more vivid than those I have exported and uploaded elsewhere. Is there a way to calibrate that too?

    Like

  3. I have a Gretag Macbeth EyeOne which was reckoned to be the best available when I bought it a couple of years ago, but was not terribly happy with the results. When I was in the AppleStore recently I was recommended the Huey Pro and I like it very much. It’s simple, quick, portable and most importantly I think the results are really good. I feel much more confident about the colour I deliver now. Also I like the way it adjusts for the current room light – particularly useful when you carry your laptop about the house as I do when I’m at home. Or as now when I am sitting by the fire in a dimly lit room.
    Once you have calibrated your screen it will apply to Lightroom too and your exports will be much more accurate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

