Oceans of red cabbage

This week has been taken over by our preparations for out village Valentines Cabaret and party. Apart from reading a poem (Shelley) and singing a song (Nature Boy) I have somehow found myself in charge of the food – for 100!

Thank heavens that wonderful Jill is in charge of all the puddings, but still I am doing quite a bit. We decided on a venison casserole, which uses local venison and as we have a huge herd of deer rampaging around our bit of the Kentish countryside and many people have their roses and more destroyed by them, there is quite an enthusiasm for eating them!
I have devised a venison casserole recipe to be made in batches of ten portions (our tables seat ten) by various friends around the village, and in addition to a couple of casseroles I am also cooking red cabbage for 100 and spiced couscous for 100.

Today is red cabbage day (I made my casseroles yesterday and will post the recipe as soon as I find time) but in response to requests here is the red cabbage recipe.

Stir fried Red Cabbage

1 med/ large red cabbage cut in quarters and shredded finely (I use a mandoline)1-2 tblsp caster sugar

salt and pepper to taste
3 tblsp cider vinegarIn a wok heat a little sunflower oil, add the shredded cabbage and cook over a high heat for about 5-10 minutes.until the cabbage is softened and the colour is evenly red with no white bits. Sprinkle in the sugar, salt and pepper and cook for a few more minutes then add the cider vinegar, stir well and allow to evaporate off a little. Test for seasoning and that it is sufficiently cooked for your taste.
I have so far made eight wokloads of this – at least another six to go as I reckon each cabbage serves about 8. I will then heat it all up in a couple of huge pots tomorrow evening and hope that it still tastes as good as it does now!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. I was just looking for a red cabbage-based recipe and… that’s it! Thank you! Ciao!
    Sabrine

    Like

Leave a Reply

